Joyce Leung

Joyce Leung

What is a “social enterprise”? “It stands somewhat between a commercial organisation and an NGO,” Joyce Leung, co-founder and executive director of Eldage explains with a sigh, “but it is never easy to reach a balance between commercial interest and social needs. A social enterprise is not sustainable unless it has a sound business model.” However, when being asked the greatest drive behind running Eldage, Joyce replied undoubtedly, “The happiness of the master craftsmen.”
Joyce, who works in a digital marketing firm, loves her mother’s homemade congee. This inspired her to propose to her company the idea of promoting traditional craftsmanship to the young generation through an online platform. Back in 2016 when Eldage was newly formed, many craftsmen were rather doubtful of the idea. “They might not be willing to share their skills and stories, or might think that youngsters nowadays wouldn’t like to learn those skills anymore. So why bother the efforts?”
Luckily, Joyce was not alone. Hiccups were overcome with the support from her boss and colleagues and the company’s digital marketing experience. For instance, they adapt to the online shopping habit of young people and set up an online store, boosting sale while conserving legacy. “At first the craftsmen had hesitation. But as it turned out hot they began to have faith in the partnership.”
Eldage means more than simply a company CSR project to Joyce. It is a platform for promoting “active ageing” that would enable the craftsmen to regain their passion. It also connects the two generations and reveals the value of traditional craftsmanship. Joyce reminded fellow young people interested in starting up a social enterprise to “be prepared for failures, be willing to take risks, be flexible in business models, and never act on impulse”.

  • The SIE Fund is funding the prototype project of Eldage. More details can be found here.

Profession

business
information technology

Scope of Services

inter-generation engagement
online services

Beneficiaries

elderly
general

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

梁藹婷

梁藹婷

何謂社企?傳耆共同創辦人及執行總監梁藹婷(Joyce)慨嘆,社企是「夾在商業機構和NGO中間」,要平衡商業利益和社會需要,毫不容易,需要尋求健康的商業模式,才可持續發展。但說到經營傳耆的最大推動力,她仍毫不猶豫:「是師傅的快樂。」
任職於數碼市場營銷機構的Joyce最愛媽媽的愛心粥,靈機一觸,想到不如將這類傳統手藝透過數碼平台加以推廣,讓年輕一輩認識,遂向公司建議開辦「傳耆」。萬事起頭難,Joyce回想2016年傳耆成立之初,不少傳統手藝師傅都半信半疑。「師傅未必願意分享手藝同故事,又或者會覺得,依家啲後生都唔願學架啦,點解要搞?」
幸而,老闆和同事對Joyce的計劃相當支持,加上公司的數碼廣告營銷經驗,難關迎刃而解。例如開設網店推廣師傅的手工藝品,迎合年輕人喜愛網購的消費習慣,刺激銷量同時又能達到傳承手藝的宗旨。「師傅最初可能好猶豫,試過發現反應熱烈喎,就有信心繼續合作。」
在Joyce眼中,傳耆不只是公司的一個企業社會責任(CSR)項目,它更是一個推廣「Active Ageing」的平台,讓師傅重拾衝勁;它也是一個連繫兩代的橋樑,讓大眾了解傳統手藝的價值。她寄語有意創辦社企的年輕人:「要有失敗的準備,要承擔得到風險,要不斷改善商業模式,不能單憑一股衝勁就做。」

  • 社創基金資助的「傳耆」原型項目的簡介可按此瀏覽。

專業背景

商界
資訊科技

服務範疇

跨代共融
網上服務

受惠組群

長者
各類有需要人士

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人