Food Support
Flagship Project

To facilitate extensive cross-sector collaboration for achieving large scale results

To address poverty issues that are of major public concern and have greater social impact, the SIE Fund Task Force is looking for areas of unmet demands and service gaps where there is a need for greater co-ordination and collaboration to achieve result. In this regard, the Task Force has shown concern for food support service in Hong Kong.

 

Having regard that the food support service sector as a whole is facing challenges, such as lack of information, unmatched supply and demand, as well as high running cost, the Task Force has decided to take on a flagship project which aims at enhancing the efficiency and effectiveness of the overall food support service in Hong Kong.

 

Latest News as at 4 June 2017


Intermediary

To design, set up and operate an inclusive platform

The SIE Fund has engaged St. James' Settlement (SJS) as the intermediary to launch its first flagship project in capacity building to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of food support services in Hong Kong. SJS is responsible for designing, building and operating an inclusive platform for different stakeholders of the sector to coordinate information sharing on the demand and supply of food items and related services. The platform will also cover best practices sharing among stakeholders and public awareness-raising work about food support services in Hong Kong.


Development

Collaborative platform to enhance the overall efficiency and effectiveness of the sector

During the first year of intermediary engagement, SJS has commissioned a territory-wide study to better understand the whole food support service sector. (click here for the executive summary of the study)

 

Rolled out to Kwai Tsing, Kwun Tong and Yuen Long in May 2017, FOOD-CO is the first all-round collaborative platform in Hong Kong to connect food support service operators, corporate food donors and volunteers by making use of information technology and data analysis. Operators can now share the best practices and better coordinate their operations through this platform. Donors can also reach out to suitable operators for more efficient food donations. Members of the public and people in need can better understand different food support services in their own districts. Public awareness programmes will also be held to let people know more about food support services in Hong Kong. FOOD-CO is expected to expand to cover all 18 districts in Hong Kong starting from 2018.

 

For more details, please refer to FOOD-CO website, the press release and the executive summary of the baseline study.

食物援助旗艦項目

推動更廣泛的跨界別合作以達致更大效果

針對社會關注或影響較為深遠的貧窮議題,社創基金專責小組致力找出現行服務不足之處或尚有哪些社會需要未被顧及,希望透過加強各方協作和更好地協調以締造成果。本港的食物援助服務正是專責小組關心的範疇。

 

有鑒於整個食物援助服務界別均面對不同挑戰,例如資訊不足、供應和需求錯配,以及高昂的營運成本等,專責小組決定推展一項關於食物援助服務的旗艦項目,以提升整個界別的效率及效益。

 

請參閱2017年6月4日最新消息


協創機構

設計、建立及營運容納各方參與的平台

社創基金已委聘聖雅各福群會成為其協創機構,推展首個旗艦項目,提升香港整體食物援助服務的效率及效益。聖雅各福群會負責的工作包括設計、建立及營運一個容納各方參與的平台,讓食物援助服務持分者分享有關食物供求情況及相關服務等資訊,從而協調地區內的食物援助服務。該平台可以讓不同持分者就最佳做法進行交流,並會涵蓋宣傳推廣活動。


發展狀況

提升界別整體效率及效益的協作平台

聖雅各福群會在擔任協創機構的第一年進行了一項涵蓋全港的調查,藉此了解食物援助界別的整體狀況。 (按閱覽食物援助基準研究內容擇要)

 

全港首個全方位協作平台 FOOD-CO已在2017年5月推出,於葵青、觀塘及元朗三區試行。FOOD-CO 運用資訊科技和數據分析,連繫食物援助服務機構、食物捐贈者和義工。透過 FOOD-CO平台,服務機構可分享最佳做法和加強協調,捐贈者可以尋找合適的服務機構從而提升食物捐贈的效率,而公眾和有需要人士則可了解區內各項服務。此外,FOOD-CO會推出公眾教育項目,讓社會對食物援助加深認識。預計 FOOD-CO將於2018年開始推廣至全港18區。

 

請瀏覽 FOOD-CO 網站 、相關新聞公布基準研究內容擇要了解詳情。