What is meant by 'Social Innovation'?

Social Innovation can be exemplified by advances in knowledge, products and services, including applications of existing business models, processes and methods to meet social need.


What is social entrepreneurship?

There is no broad definition of what social entrepreneurship is. According to the Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship of the Oxford University, social entrepreneurship is the product of individuals, organisations, and networks that challenge conventional structures causing inadequate provision or unequal distribution of social and environmental goods by addressing these failures and identifying new opportunities for better alternatives.


What are the differences between ‘entrepreneurs’ and ‘social entrepreneurs’?

Social entrepreneurs are entrepreneurs with a social mission. For entrepreneurs, financial return is the key measure of success. In the case of social entrepreneurs, financial return is an incentive or a means through which the end of introducing social change can be achieved. Social entrepreneurs seek out social needs that are not being met effectively by current businesses or public programmes and try to develop new business models that create viable new businesses that address these needs, particularly through empowering people in need.


What is the current state of social innovation and entrepreneurship in Hong Kong?

The development of social enterprises in Hong Kong so far has been led predominantly by NGOs supported by public funding. In recent years, the ecosystem of socially directed business has started to evolve, and some social entrepreneurs and successful pioneer projects on social innovation have emerged. Some platforms, collaborative bodies, awards and competitions, and education initiatives, have been set up to bring entrepreneurial and innovative ideas to address social issues including poverty alleviation and empowerment of the underprivileged.

As revealed by the findings of the 2012-13 Hong Kong Social Enterprise Landscape Study conducted by the Hong Kong Council of Social Services -HSBC Social Enterprise Business Centre, the number of SE projects has increased by 50% (from 269 to 406) over the last five years. Half of these projects were funded by government grants and 24% by NGOs. 22% were privately funded which showed a sharp increase over the last two years. The social objectives of the projects have also been broadened from providing employment and training opportunities to the underprivileged to promoting social inclusion and meeting unmet social needs.


How do you see the development of our social innovation landscape in the years to come?

Poverty remains an important issue of concern to our community. While traditional government assistance and services can continue to provide a safety net that helps alleviate hardship of the disadvantaged, there is a need to find new ways to create renewed opportunity. One of the root causes of poverty is that disadvantaged groups, particularly those who are young, lack means to grasp opportunities. Training and education are part of the formula for poverty alleviation, but access to networks of advice and support and an opening up of new areas of economic activity are also essential ingredients. The development of SEs is opening up new areas of economic activity and laying a foundation for greater social innovation. In the years to come we expect to see more active and mature entrepreneurs, investors, philanthropists, academics, NGOs creating an environment that gives much greater depth of encouragement, support and inspiration to young social entrepreneurs, building businesses that strengthen local communities and provide more opportunity across the city. The objective of the SIE Fund is to foster that development through its ventures.

Next: FAQs about SIE Fund

何謂社會創新?

社會創新泛指知識、產品或服務上的改進,其中包括現有業務模式、程序和方法的新應用以對應社會需要。


何謂社會創業?

社會創業沒有概括定義。根據牛津大學 Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship,社會創業可指個人、機構、網絡有見於現有機制導致(或未能解決)社會資源分配不均而提出解決問題的新辦法。


社會創業家和企業家有何不同?

兩者不同之處在於社會創業家抱有社會使命。金錢回報是企業家的成功指標。對社會創業家而言,改善社會是最終目的,金錢回報是達致這一目的的途徑或動力。社會創業家找出現有市場或制度未能顧及的社會需要,試圖以新的營運模式,建立新事業來應對這些需要,而這些新的營運模式往往涉及對受助者充權(empower)。


香港現時在社會創新和社會創業方面的情況如何?

一直以來,香港的社會企業主要由非政府機構營運並由公共資金資助。近年,一個以社會價值為導向的商企生態系統逐漸形成,不少成功的社會創業家和社會創新項目出現。一些平台、協作機構、獎勵計劃、比賽、教育機構相繼成立,以創新意念應對社會問題,包括扶貧和為弱勢社群充權。

根據社聯-滙豐社會企業商務中心「香港社企概況2012-2013」,過去五年本港社企項目的總數由269家增至406家,增幅超過50%。這些社企項目之中,約有一半由政府資金資助,約24%由非政府機構資助,約22%由私人資助,私人資助的比率過去兩年大幅上升。另外,社企的目標亦由為弱勢社羣提供職位和職業培訓擴展至推廣社會共融和關注其他社會需要。


社會創新在未來會如何發展?

貧窮問題仍然會是公眾關注的課題。政府現行的援助計劃和服務作為安全網可以提供紓困的作用,但亦須要尋求新方法以製造新機會。貧窮問題根源之一是弱勢社群尤其是年青人無法把握機遇。教育和培訓固然有助減貧,但讓弱勢社群獲得指導和參與新的經濟活動亦很重要。社會創業正好可以提供新的經濟活動,並為進一步的社會創新奠下基礎。我們期望將來會有越來越多創業家、投資者、慈善家、學者、非政府機構等一起創造一個為年青創業家提供更多鼓勵和支持的環境,讓他們建立更多具社會目標的企業,為社會提供更多機會。社創基金的目的正是幫助製造這一環境。

下一則: 關於社創基金