Research

The objectives of conducting research are to identify capabilities, opportunities and needs; understand models and best practices for promoting social innovation and entrepreneurship and key success factors in social impact assessment / corporate governance, etc. The research findings will help identify social issues and facilitate the formulation of strategies and solutions.
The SIE Fund will directly fund research projects.  We welcome the community to lodge proposals to the Task Force Secretariat. A list of research projects funded by the SIE Fund is as follows:

(More information about the projects is available here)

Business for Good:
Understanding the Motivations
for Business to Create Shared Value

Launched by Hong Kong Social Entrepreneurship Forum Limited in July 2019, the project aims to identify the push and pull factors for businesses to transform from profit maximization to long term and sustainable shareholder value creation, as well as create the community demand for business for social good in Hong Kong. It will recommend concrete steps to foster the development of business for good amongst Hong Kong businesses. The main beneficiaries include the local businesses which adopt shared value management strategy, their staff and target audience.


BRICKS

BRICKS stands for Building Research Innovation for Community Knowledge and Sustainability, which is a one-year pilot project launched by the British Council in August 2018. Its objective is to find innovative solutions to social challenges in Hong Kong by building the capacity of the social innovation research community; fostering collaboration among higher education institutes, practitioners in the civic and business communities and other organisations working at the frontline of social service delivery; and facilitate the development of research projects which will link up the city’s academics with the beneficiary groups. The project is managed by a consortium of organisations led by the British Council and comprising Professor Alex Nicholls from the Saïd Business School of the University of Oxford, the Social Innovation Exchange and the Good Lab.  Read more


Applied Research Projects

The SIE Fund is supporting the Chinese University of Hong Kong to conduct 25 applied research projects. Results of these projects will help promote social inclusion and enable beneficiaries to overcome hurdles in daily living. It is expected that more than 144 000 persons, including persons with mild neurocognitive disorder, stroke patients, elderly, ethnic minority students and women, persons with hearing, visual or speech impairment and autistic children, will benefit.  Read more


Landscape Study on Gerontechnology and Innovation in Hong Kong

The Hong Kong Council of Social Service was engaged to conduct the study which aimed to collect the views of stakeholders on the subject, enhance their understanding, and stimulate thoughts as to how to make use of innovation and technology to meet the current and future demand for elderly care and to tap the new opportunities.  Read more


Mapping the Best Practices in Social Innovation Development

The research project, conducted by the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, has examined some 200 local and overseas social innovation ventures to explore the best practices in social innovation development. It is expected that its findings will provide valuable references for Hong Kong and help inspire more innovative solutions. Video presentation of the research findings is available here.


Research on the needs of kindergartens in teaching ethnic minority students

With the support of the Collective Impact platform, Zubin Foundation conducted a half-year research project in 2017 on the needs of kindergartens in teaching ethnic minority students. The professional views and experience of the teachers were collected to help formulate suitable measures of intervention in future.


Evaluation Study of the SIE Fund

Conducted by The University of Hong Kong and commenced in March 2016, the Study examines the Fund's overall performance in terms of both financial and non-financial impacts, the impact of intermediaries and of projects and initiatives funded or supported by the Fund. The final report of the Study was completed in November 2019. It confirms the Fund’s contributions to the ecosystem. Recommendations are also made for the Fund to further strengthen its impact. These findings will serve as useful reference for the future development of the Fund.  Read more

研究

進行研究的目的包括:為社會創新圈子確立能力、機會和需要;了解推廣社會創新和創業的最佳做法和模式;認識社會效益評估和企業管治的關鍵因素。研究結果有助找出社會問題所在,促成應對的策略和解決方案。
社創基金會直接資助相關研究項目,歡迎社會各界向專責小組秘書處提交建議書。至今已獲基金資助的研究項目如下:

(按閱覽研究項目更多資料)

商社共贏:
了解商企創造共享價值的動機

社會創業論壇於2019年7月開展本項目,旨在探討商界由「最大利潤化」轉變成透過「共享價值」理念以達致「商社共贏」(business for good) 的誘因和推動力、創造有利以「商社共贏」理念營運生意的社會,以及提出具體建議以推動本地企業達致「商社共贏」。受惠者主要是本地大小企業及其僱員,以及受惠於「共享價值」生意模式的市民。


BRICKS

BRICKS全名Building Research Innovation for Community Knowledge and Sustainability,項目由英國文化協會於2018年8月推出,旨在提升本地學術界在社會創新方面的能力,同時創造一個能夠促進本地學術界、公民社會、商界和前線社會服務機構共同協作的環境,並鼓勵更多讓本地學術界直接與目標受惠社群連繫的研究項目,藉此發掘創新方案以應對本港社會問題。BRICKS項目由一個匯聚各方專業知識的聯盟管理執行,除了英國文化協會,其他夥伴包括英國牛津大學Saïd Business School的Alex Nicholls教授、Social Innovation Exchange(SIX)和好單位(Good Lab)。 詳情


應用研究

社創基金資助香港中文大學進行25項社會創新應用研究,對象包括輕度認知障礙人士、中風患者、長者、不同種族學生及婦女、聽障、視障及語言障礙人士、自閉症兒童等。研究成果將有助受惠者克服障礙和加強共融,預期受惠人數將超過 144 000 人。詳情


樂齡科技概況研究

這項研究由社會服務聯會進行,目的是收集業界的看法、提升他們對相關課題的了解,以及就著如何利用創新和科技應對目前和將來對長者護理服務需求集思廣益,鼓勵業界把握市場機遇。詳情


探索社創發展的最佳模式

這研究項目由香港理工大學進行,透過檢視本地及海外超過200個社會創新項目探索社創發展的最佳模式。研究結果可望為社會創新在本港的進一步發展提供重要參考,並有助啟發更多創新方案。請按此觀看研究報告簡報影片 (只有英文版)。


探討幼稚園教導少數族裔學生的需要

小彬紀念基金會(Zubin Foundation)獲得協同創效平台資助,於2017 年進行一個為期半年的研究項目,以了解幼稚園在教導非華語學生方面的需要,並收集幼稚園教育工作者的專業意見和個人經驗,以便日後研究制定適切有效的介入措施。


社創基金評估研究

這項研究由香港大學進行,於2016年3月展開,全面檢討基金整體工作成效,從「基金整體」、「協創機構」和「基金支持項目」三個層面審視社創基金的財務和非財務效益。這項評估研究的最終報告已於2019年11月完成,報告確認基金在促進社會創新生態系統發展方面的貢獻,並就基金如何進一步加強效益提出建議。有關研究的結果將會用作基金未來發展的參考。詳情