Piloting Pay-for-Success in Hong Kong

To facilitate public-private partnership which enables the government to leverage private investments for improved social outcomes

Pay-for-Success (PFS), also known as Social Impact Bond (SIB) and Social Benefit Bond, is an innovative financing model for social services which has been gaining widespread interest across the globe. According to Social Finance UK which launched the first ever SIB back in 2010, "a SIB is a contract with the public sector in which it commits to pay for improved social outcomes. On the basis of this contract, investment is raised from socially-motivated investors. This investment is used to pay for a range of interventions to improve social outcomes. If social outcomes improve, investor will receive payments from government.  These payments repay the initial investment plus a financial return. The financial return is dependent on the degree to which outcomes improve".

In a nutshell, PFS is a public-private partnership which funds effective social services through performance-based contractual arrangements and enables governments to partner with high-performing service providers by using private investments to develop, coordinate or expand effective programmes. It is a series of contractual arrangements, typically facilitated by an Intermediary, which involve Investor(s) paying up-front the costs of interventions to improve social outcomes, and the Commissioner/Outcome Payer (typically government agencies) repaying investor(s) such costs, possibly with financial returns, subject to and depending on the social outcomes achieved by the Service Provider(s) as assessed by an independent Evaluator.  It leverages on investors’ risk-sharing to enable funding of more innovative or preventive interventions which are currently not yet covered in the government budget. To understand more about the concept of PFS and the responsibilities of the major parties involved in a PFS, please refer to the report “Financial Innovation for Social Impacts – an Advocacy Report on Pay-for-Success” issued by Our Hong Kong Foundation in 2017 (Full Report; Presentation Slides).


SIE Fund as a Catalyst

The SIE Fund seeks to catalyse
the pilot development of PFS
in Hong Kong

The SIE Fund seeks to catalyse the pilot development of PFS in Hong Kong by linking up interested stakeholders, facilitating structuring of pilot PFS project(s) and assuming the role of Commissioner in worthwhile pilot PFS project(s). The aim is to:

  • test the effectiveness of PFS model in local context;
  • help all parties gain learnings;
  • foster cross-sector capacity building; and
  • use the pilot project(s) as a showcase for government bureaux and departments and inspire them to identify application to other social and poverty related issues.

To this end, the SIE Fund organised a sharing session on PFS in January 2018 with speakers from Our Hong Kong Foundation and Social Finance UK sharing the concept of PFS and global adoption of PFS (Please refer to the presentation materials [part 1part 2] and the video). About 70 participants attended the session, including interested stakeholders in the social innovation space and representatives from government bureaux / departments.

In June 2018, the SIE Fund further organised a stakeholder engagement workshop to gather interested and relevant parties to appraise the potential of the model in Hong Kong and to explore the feasibility and readiness for Hong Kong to pilot PFS project(s). About 50 interested stakeholders including investors, foundation/family offices, non-governmental organisations, social entrepreneurs, academia and government officials attended the workshop and the feedback was positive. Majority of the participants saw the merits of the PFS model and recognised the potential and readiness for Hong Kong to pilot PFS project(s) to test the model.  For more details about the workshop, please refer to the Executive Summary produced by PricewaterhouseCoopers Advisory Services Ltd, the project manager engaged by the SIE Fund for organising the workshop.

In October 2018, the SIE Fund organised a second sharing session with distinguished speakers from Our Hong Kong Foundation, Social Finance and Tri-Sector Associates (formerly known as Third Sector Asia) to introduce the concept, share examples of overseas PFS cases and provide insights on the key lessons learnt. For more details about the second sharing session, please refer to the presentation materials [part 1 (video) / part 2 (video) / part 3 (video)].


Proposals related to PFS

PFS proposals/grant applications
are welcome
To facilitate pilot development of the PFS model in Hong Kong, the SIE Fund welcomes proposals from the community in either of the following forms –
(a) Proposal to invite the SIE Fund to act as the Commissioner of a structured PFS project; or
(b)  Application for a grant from the SIE Fund to fund the structuring cost of a potential PFS project.

(Note: Approval of the grant under (b) does not commit the SIE Fund to fund subsequent proposals to invite the SIE Fund to act as the Commissioner under (a))

Assessment of the proposals will be made according to established mechanisms.

引領「按效果付費」
模式在香港的發展

促進公私營合作,借助私人
投資者的力量改善社會

「按效果付費」(Pay-for-Success,又稱「社會效益債券」)是一種為社會服務融資的創新模式,在全球各地日漸盛行。英國 Social Finance 在2010 年已推出第一項社會效益債券,根據其論述:

社會效益債券是政府/公營機構訂立的契約,承諾就改善社會成效付費,透過該契約從社會效益投資者籌集資金,為各種改善社會成效的項目融資。倘社會成效有所改善,政府將向投資者付費,該等費用包含投資者原初投入的本金及視乎成效改善程度而定的財務回報。


總括而言,「按效果付費」是一種公私營合作模式,透過績效為本和契約方式為社會服務融資,令政府可跟表現卓越的社會服務營辦方合作,利用私人投資以發展、協調或擴展有效的項目。這一系列合約安排通常由中介機構促成,投資者於合約生效當下支付有關項目的費用,以改善社會成效;而委聘人/付款人(通常為政府)則視乎社會服務營辦方所達致的社會成效,並由獨立評核者核證,向投資者支付上述已付費用,或加上財務回報。這種模式借助投資者分擔風險,以促成更多現時政府財政預算未及涵蓋的創新或預防性項目。欲進一步了解「按效果付費」的概念及各參與方的角色,可參閱團結香港基金於2017年發表的《推動金融創新 成就社會效益 - 按效果付費機制倡議報告》(報告全文報告簡報)。


社創基金作為催化者

發揮催化者的作用,推動
「按效果付費」模式在香港的
起步發展

社創基金致力成為催化者,推動「按效果付費」模式在香港的發展。就此,基金積極連繫各相關持份者,協助籌劃相關先導項目,並擔任委聘人的角色,旨在:

  • 測試「按效果付費」模式在本地環境的成效;
  • 協助各方學習並有所裨益;
  • 促進跨界能力提升;及
  • 以先導項目作為示範,鼓勵政府各決策局 / 部門運用「按效果付費」模式回應貧窮以及其他社會問題。

就此,社創基金於2018年1月舉辦了一場分享會,由團結香港基金及英國Social Finance的專家講述「按效果付費」的概念,以及有關模式在世界各地推行的概況(請參考簡報資料 [第1部分 / 第2部分 (只有英文版本)] 和影片)。這次分享會約有70人參與,包括社創界別中對有關模式感興趣的持份者及政府各決策局 / 部門代表。

2018年6月,社創基金再舉辦了一場持份者研討工作坊,聚集有興趣參與者和相關人士,審視「按效果付費」模式在香港推行的潛力,並探討在本港開展相關先導項目的可行性和條件是否成熟。約50人參與工作坊,包括投資者、慈善基金/家族基金、非政府機構、社會企業家、學者和政府人員。參加者均給予好評,大部分表示了解「按效果付費」模式的優點,並認為香港具備潛力和已準備就緒推行相關先導計劃以測試成效。有關工作坊詳情請參考獲委聘籌劃該工作坊的PricewaterhouseCoopers Advisory Services Ltd所撰寫的摘要(只有英文版本)。

2018年10月,社創基金舉辦了第二場分享會,邀請團結香港基金、Social Finance及Tri-Sector Associates (前稱Third Sector Asia)的多位講者,簡介「按效果付費」概念、分享海外案例,並就可供借鑒之處提供洞見。有關這次分享會的詳情,請參考簡報資料(只有英文版本) [第1部分 (影片) / 第2部分 (影片) / 第3部分 (影片)]。


「按效果付費」
相關建議書

歡迎遞交建議書 /
撥款申請書

為推動「按效果付費」模式在香港起步發展,社創基金歡迎社會各界遞交建議書,形式如下:

(一)    建議書︰就一個已完成規劃的「按效果付費」項目,邀請社創基金擔任項目的委聘人;或
(二)    撥款申請書︰向社創基金申請資助規劃有潛力的「按效果付費」項目。

(註:如某項目透過(二)獲批撥款,並不表示其後當該項目以(一)形式遞交建議書邀請社創基金擔任委聘人時,社創基金必然會批核該建議。)


所有建議書將按既定機制予以審核。