Gerontechnology Platform
in Hong Kong

The SIE Fund's second flagship project
to foster the gerontechnology ecosystem
development in Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s population is ageing rapidly. Statistics show that by 2040, approximately 30% of local population will be aged 65 or over. Yet, the future ageing population will be better educated and wealthier. In 2016, 25% of local population aged 60 or above had received senior secondary or tertiary education but the corresponding figures for those aged 50-59 and 40-49 were 51% and 67%. The latter two groups of future elderly are expected to seek a more self-reliant and quality living after retirement.

Gerontechnology, combining gerontology with technology, is widely recognised as a key to addressing the challenges and tapping the opportunities arising from the ageing population. It is an inter- and multi-disciplinary sector which focuses on the application of technology towards elderly-related products and services to enhance the well-being, quality of life, independence and self-reliance of the elderly, and provide support to the families, caregivers, healthcare staff and institutions. These products and services may very often be applied to rehabilitation and cater for the needs of people with disabilities.

In view of the challenges and opportunities arising from the ageing population, the SIE Fund has decided to engage one intermediary to design, develop and operate an inclusive platform so as to facilitate the development of the gerontechnology ecosystem in Hong Kong. The platform should serve to link up different stakeholders on the supply side and connect them with the demand side by way of engagement, cross-sector partnerships and collaborations.

Since 2017, different organisations have embarked on their gerontechnology initiatives with a view to addressing the ageing issue and facilitating the development and application of gerontechnology in Hong Kong. The objective of SIE Fund’s platform is not to replace, duplicate or crowd out the valuable work being taken forward by these organisations. Instead, the platform should facilitate knowledge and experience sharing as well as collaborations across these initiatives or platforms with the aim of gathering the efforts of all stakeholders to address the ageing issue in a holistic manner, avoiding duplication of efforts, building capacity, further synergising, and collectively achieving efficiency and effectiveness in the gerontechnology sector as well as bigger social impact for Hong Kong.

The gerontechnology platform will comprise four basic elements, namely:

  • knowledge hub;
  • network and capacity building;
  • consultancy, localisation and testing support; and
  • impact assessment.

Approach

The initiative will be taken forward as the second flagship project of the Fund.

The SIE Fund will engage one intermediary to design, develop and operate the inclusive gerontechnology platform and provide the intermediary with seed funding. This is a one-off grant. The intermediary is required to devise a business model which will be financially sustainable for the scope of services set out in the invitation brief.


Invitation for Intermediary

The SIE Fund has invited interested parties to submit proposals to act as intermediary to design, develop and operate the gerontechnology platform.  An invitation brief setting out the scope of services, the eligibility and submission requirements, the assessment process and selection criteria, the key engagement terms, etc. can be downloaded here.  [Application closed at 6pm on 23 July 2019]

Two identical briefing sessions for this invitation exercise were held on 14 and 21 May (please click here for the presentation materials). Those who have missed the briefing sessions can also leave their contact information here to receive updates on the invitation exercise.

For enquiry, please call 2165 7389 (9:30am to 12:30pm and 2pm to 6pm, Monday to Friday except Public Holiday) or send email to gerontech@effo.gov.hk.

Information of importance


Our Journey on Promoting Gerontechnology

As a catalyst to build the social innovation ecosystem, in addition to nurturing social ventures through innovative programmes run by intermediaries, the SIE Fund will also actively identify service gaps across the whole of Hong Kong where there is a need for greater co-ordination and collaboration to achieve bigger impact and fund infrastructure or institutions that will help plug these gaps.

Riding on the success of the first flagship project that the Fund has launched to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the overall food support service in Hong Kong (click here for more information) and in the light of the challenges and opportunities arising from the ageing population, the SIE Fund has, since 2016, explored how to address the challenges and opportunities through innovative means and more extensive cross-sector collaboration.

In October 2016, representatives of the SIE Fund joined an overseas delegation to Japan to appraise the development of gerontechnology in other places.

In the light of the potential of gerontechnology and leveraging on the organisation of the first Gerontech and Innovation Expo cum Summit staged in Hong Kong in 2017, the SIE Fund commissioned the Hong Kong Council of Social Service (HKCSS) in February 2017 to conduct the first landscape study on gerontechnology in Hong Kong. Findings of the gerontechnology landscape study were released in June 2017. Conducted by Our Hong Kong Foundation in partnership with the HKCSS, the study looked into 72 products and services with the potential of widespread use in Hong Kong and identified 24 gaps and difficulties involving different stakeholders across various stages of the gerontechnology ecosystem. The Gerontechnology Landscape Report can be downloaded here.

Subsequent to the release of the findings of the gerontechnology landscape study, a cross-sector stakeholder engagement workshop was held in June 2017 to brainstorm opportunities. Over 60 participants from a wide spectrum of sectors gathered together and shared their perspectives regarding how to foster the development and application of gerontechnology products and services in Hong Kong. Whilst acknowledging the challenges identified in the study, most of the workshop participants echoed that fragmentation of both the demand and supply sides was a critical factor hindering the effective development of the ecosystem. The participants were of the view that the SIE Fund should consider establishing a gerontechnology platform to link up the different stakeholders. A post-event report of the workshop can be downloaded here.

In early 2018, the SIE Fund decided to establish an inclusive platform to link up different stakeholders on the supply side and connect them with the demand side so as to foster the development and application of gerontechnology and facilitate the development of the gerontechnology ecosystem in Hong Kong.

To this end, a three-stage stakeholder engagement programme, comprising a sharing session, a series of visits and two co-creation workshops, was launched by the SIE Fund from May to August 2018 to collectively shape the scope and design of the Platform. Over 140 stakeholders from a wide spectrum of sectors participated in the programme and provided their views and suggestions on the scope of the Platform.

Stage 1 - Sharing Session

A sharing session on the current landscape and latest development in the gerontechnology ecosystem was held on 9 May 2018. Seven distinguished speakers coming from different sectors shared their experience, views and plans in the gerontechnology field and together provided a comprehensive overview of the current landscape and latest development of the gerontechnology ecosystem in Hong Kong. The session was attended by over 90 participants from 55 organisations of a wide spectrum of sectors.
  • Video records of the sharing session:

Stage 2 - Site Visits

The SIE Fund organised four rounds of site visits in June 2018. Over 100 participants from 42 organisations evaluated first-hand the existing situation, challenges and opportunities of the application of gerontechnology in Hong Kong .

More information about the site visits can be found in the "post-visits report".

  • Locations of site visits:

Stage 3 - Co-creation Workshops

On 30 July and 16 August 2018, the SIE Fund organised two co-creation workshops where 53 players from both the supply and demand sides of the gerontechnology ecosystem came together to brainstorm the scope of the future gerontechnology platform and co-design solutions. A summary of the key suggestions collected from the workshops can be downloaded here.

香港的樂齡科技平台

社創基金透過第二個旗艦項目
推動香港樂齡科技生態系統
的發展
本港人口正急劇高齡化。統計資料顯示,預計到了2040年,65歲或以上人士將佔總人口約30%。然而,未來高齡人口不僅教育程度更高,亦更為富裕。在2016年,60歲或以上人士中,擁有高中或大專學歷的佔25%,而 50至 59 歲組別和40 至 49 歲組別擁有同等學歷的人士分別為51%和67%。預期後兩個組別的未來長者會追求更自主、更高質素的退休生活。

結合老年學及科技的樂齡科技,被廣泛視為應對人口高齡化的挑戰和把握當中機會的關鍵。樂齡科技是一個橫跨多個專業的界別,通過運用科技,設計及開發與長者相關的產品或服務,以提升長者福祉、生活質素,以及獨立生活和自理的能力,同時為其家庭、照顧者、護理員和護理機構提供支援。樂齡科技產品及服務往往亦適用於康復服務及應對殘疾人士的需要。

因應高齡人口帶來的挑戰和機遇,社創基金決定委聘一間協創機構,負責設計、開發及營運一個容納各方參與的平台,以推動香港樂齡科技生態系統的發展。該平台將透過推動參與、連結跨界別夥伴及促進合作,一方面連繫供應層面的不同持份者,另一方面連結供、求兩大層面。

自2017年以來,已有不同機構從事應對老齡化問題及促進樂齡科技在本港發展及應用的工作。社創基金建立樂齡科技平台的目的,並非要取代或重複各機構已開展的工作或將之排擠在外,而是促進有關工作或平台之間的知識及經驗交流合作,務求集結各界力量,更全面地應對老齡化問題,避免工作重叠,同時提升業界能力及增強協同效應,共同提升樂齡科技界別的效率及效益及締造更大的社會效益。

樂齡科技平台將涵蓋四項基本元素,分別為
  • 知識庫;
  • 網絡建設和能力提升;
  • 顧問服務、本地化和測試支援;以及
  • 效益評估。

模式

樂齡科技平台是社創基金推出的第二個旗艦項目。

基金會委聘一間協創機構,負責設計、開發及營運一個容納各方參與的樂齡科技平台。基金將提供一次過的種子資金。協創機構須根據邀請文件中所列的服務範疇,制訂在財務上可持續的業務模式。

招募協創機構

社創基金誠邀有興趣的機構或團體提交建議書申請成為協創機構,負責設計、開發及營運樂齡科技平台。基金已擬備邀請文件,詳列協創機構的服務範圍、申請資格和提交建議書所需注意事項、評審程序和挑選準則,以及主要委聘條款等。邀請文件可於此處下載(只有英文版)。 [已於2019年7月23日下午6時截止申請]

兩場內容相同的協創機構申請簡介會已於5月14日及5月21日舉行 (請按閱覽簡介會投映片[只有英文版] )。未能出席上述簡介會人士亦可按留下聯絡資料,接收有關此次招募的最新消息。

查詢請致電2165 7389 (星期一至五上午9時30分至下午12時30分及下午2時至6時;星期六、日及公眾假期休息) 或電郵至gerontech@effo.gov.hk

重要資料


社創基金推廣
樂齡科技發展的歷程

作為建立社會創新生態系統的催化劑,社創基金除了透過協創機構推展的創新計劃培育社會創新項目,亦積極從整體社會層面探索現行服務之不足,找出可藉由加強協調和合作,締造更大效益的地方,並資助合適機構或基礎架構,以補缺漏。

基金的首個旗艦項目以提升本港食物援助服務的整體效率及效益為目標[按閱覽詳情],基於相關的成功經驗,並有見於人口高齡化帶來的挑戰和機會,基金自2016年起探索如何透過創新方法和加強跨界別合作應對相關挑戰和把握當中的機會。

基金代表於2016年10月參加了一個日本考察團,以了解樂齡科技在其他地區的發展概況。

基於樂齡科技的潛力,並乘樂齡科技博覽暨高峰會於2017年首次在香港舉行之利,基金於2017年2月委託香港社會服務聯會(社聯)進行全港首個樂齡科技概況研究。研究由社聯和團結香港基金攜手進行,並於2017年6月發表研究結果。研究檢視了72項具廣泛應用潛力的樂齡科技產品及服務,並列舉了不同持份者在樂齡科技生態系統的不同階段所面對的24項困難。[請按下載研究報告]

研究結果發表之後,基金於2017年6月舉行了跨界別工作坊,就研究結果集思廣益。超過60位來自不同界別的持份者出席,就如何促進樂齡科技產品和服務在香港的發展及應用分享見解。除了研究結果所列舉的困難外,大部份參加者亦認同供、求雙方的零碎化是窒礙樂齡科技生態系統發展的主要因素。參加者認為社創基金應考慮構建一個連繫不同持份者的樂齡科技平台。[請按下載工作坊報告 (只有英文版)]

基金其後於2018年初決定建立一個容納各方參與的樂齡科技平台,一方面連繫供應層面的不同持份者,另一方面連結供、求兩大層面,以推動樂齡科技的開發和應用,並促進本港樂齡科技生態系統的發展。

就此平台的涵蓋範疇及設計,基金於2018年5月至8月舉行了三階段的「持份者參與計劃」,當中包括一場分享會,一系列實地考察,以及兩場共創工作坊,超過140位來自不同界別持份者參與其中,為建立樂齡科技平台提供意見及建議。

第一階段 - 分享會

基金於2018年5月9日舉行了一場以樂齡科技生態系統的現況及最新發展為主題的分享會,並邀請了共七位來自不同界別的嘉賓分享在發展樂齡科技方面的經驗、看法和計劃,就香港樂齡科技生態系統的現況及最新發展提供了一個全面的敍述。共90多位來自55個不同界別機構的代表出席了分享會。

  • 分享會影片︰

第二階段 – 實地考察

基金在2018年6月舉辦了四輪實地考察,超過100名來自42個機構的人士參加,親身了解及掌握樂齡科技的實際應用情況、所面對的困難和機遇。

有關實地考察的更多資訊,請參閱考察報告 (只有英文版)。

  • 實地考察地點︰

第三階段 – 共創工作坊

基金在2018年7月30日及8月16日舉辦了兩場共創工作坊,共有53位來自供、求兩大層面的持份者參與,為日後的樂齡科技平台的涵蓋範圍共創方案。工作坊所收集意見的總結 (只有英文版) 可在下載。


資源