Community Housing Movement

The Hong Kong Council of Social Service (HKCSS) launched the "Community Housing Movement" in September 2017. As the intermediary of the Movement, HKCSS establishes and operates a collaboration platform to bring in the joint efforts of landlords, social welfare agencies, professional bodies and different sectors of the community to provide affordable and decent transitional social housing to the grassroots without public housing support. The SIE Fund and the Community Chest have jointly provided HKCSS with a grant for funding the set-up of the platform and operational expenses of the intermediary during the three-year operation of the project.


About the Project

HKCSS, as the intermediary of the project, is responsible for soliciting idle or under-utilised accommodation, conducting inspection, leasing and basic renovation, and then subletting the housing units to non-governmental organisations and social enterprises for operation. HKCSS also connects professional bodies to assist in different matters, such as site inspection, tenancy agreement drafting and renovation, etc. The project aims to provide 500 units and benefit 1 000 grassroots households by August 2020. The rent is between the maximum level of the rent allowance under Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme and rent of the Public Rental Housing, and it will not be higher than 25% of household income of the tenant.

Through the provision of accommodation and support services, the project can offer short-term relief to the individuals or families who are proven to be in need of transitional housing (queued for Public Rental Housing for not less than 3 years, or those with other long-term housing arrangement), currently living in dismal and inadequate housing conditions, as well as low income and in urgent need for community support. The project not only aims at meeting the transitional housing needs of the grassroots but also offering community support to them. Apart from providing accommodation, the operators also provide community-based social services, including personal development, life skills, community support and recreational activities, etc., to the tenants to enable them to live independently in the community in future.


Project Development

As at September 2019, the Community Housing Movement has provided transitional housing to about 290 households:

For more details, please refer to the Community Housing Movement website.

In addition to the number of flats provided, the Movement is also bringing about positive effects in different aspects.

Tenants, in interviews quoted in the First Annual Review Report (Nov 2017 - Oct 2018) prepared by HKCSS lately, praise the benefits to their well-being and their children's growth as living conditions and neighbourhood relations improve after having moved into social housing units. The Report also revealed that the average floor area per capita has increased by up to 40% while the average rental expense per month has decreased by around 30%.

The capacity of the Movement's partners was built. HKCSS has drawn up practice guidelines to support operators in the implementation and management of projects. Operators and frontline social workers acquire skills and knowledge in recruiting, matching and connecting tenant households, as well as in property maintenance and more.

The Movement is a successful demonstration of transitional housing. Social housing projects are being put forward or proposed by several organisations. Government measures to facilitate initiatives from the community are in place. [Note]

Community Housing Movement brings about positive effects in different aspects

 

Note
For instance, the Task Force on Transitional Housing has been set up under the Transport and Housing Bureau to co-ordinate and provide one-stop support for community-initiated projects (see paragraph 137, Transitional Housing, Budget Speech by the Financial Secretary, 2019-20 Budget); waiver fee, rent and associated costs are to be exempted for land applications related to the provision of transitional housing (see government press release issued on 18 April 2019).

社會房屋共享計劃

香港社會服務聯會(社聯)於2017年9月推出「社會房屋共享計劃」。社聯擔當項目的中介角色,成立一個合作平台凝聚業主、社福機構、專業人士和社會各界的力量,為有過渡性住屋需要,而暫未獲公營房屋支援的低收入家庭,提供可負擔和適切的過渡性住所。社創基金聯同香港公益金向社聯提供撥款資助有關平台的建立,以及社聯作為中介機構營運該項目三年所需的費用。


項目內容

社聯擔當項目的中介角色,負責募集社會上閒置或未充分利用的單位,進行勘察,承租及基本翻新,再分租給社會服務機構及社會企業營運。社聯亦會聯繫專業團體以協助不同項目的進行,例如單位勘察、草議租約和工程項目等。預期到2020年8月,項目可提供500個單位予1 000個低收入家庭。租金水平介乎綜合社會保障援助的租金津貼最高金額及公屋租金,上限為租戶入息的25%。

項目透過提供住房和支援服務,為有需要的個人或家庭提供短期紓解。對象包括有明確過渡性房屋需要(輪候公屋最少三年或有其他長遠居住安排)、現正居於不適切住房,以及低收入和急需社區支援的住戶。項目不單為基層市民提供過渡性住所,更重要的是讓他們從社區中得到生活上的支援。除了提供住屋單位,營運機構亦會為租戶提供社區為本的社會服務,包括個人發展、生活技能、社區支援及康樂活動等,以協助租戶日後在社區獨立生活。


發展狀況

截至 2019 年 6 月,「社會房屋共享計劃」已為約280戶受惠家庭提供可負擔的過渡性住所:

請瀏覽社會房屋共享計劃網站了解詳情。

除了提供居住單位,社會房屋共享計劃亦在多方面產生正面影響。

社聯早前完成了社會房屋共享計劃首份年度報告 (2017年11月至2018年10月),報告引述,受惠家庭表示入住共享房屋後,居住環境和鄰里關係獲大幅改善,對身心健康及子女成長均有裨益。報告亦指出,受惠家庭的人均居住面積增加約40%,平均租金支出則下降了約30%。

在推展社會房屋共享計劃的過程中,各夥伴的能力均有所提升。社聯訂立了實務指引,協助營運共享房屋項目的機構推行和管理項目。參與機構及前線社工亦取得招募、配對和連繫租住家庭、物業保養等方面的技巧和知識。

社會房屋共享計劃印證過渡性房屋理念可行,多個機構相繼提出社會房屋項目,政府亦已推出措施促進由民間機構推動的過渡性房屋項目。[註]

社會房屋共享計劃在多方面產生正面影響

 


這些措施包括在運輸及房屋局成立「過渡性房屋專責小組」統籌由民間主導的過渡性房屋項目及提供一站式支援 (請參閱2019至20年度政府財政預算案財政司司長預算案演辭第137段「過渡性房屋」),以及就提供過渡性房屋的土地申請,免收豁免書費用、租金及其他相關費用 (請參閱2019年4月18日政府新聞公報)。