Lin Heung House

Lin Heung House
Max Cheng
Johnny Lo

Max has a lifelong affinity with incense. He had seen his family burning incense in religious rituals since he was a child. In his teenage years, he produced art pieces with incense sticks. He majored in visual arts at university and used incense in his final year project. Inspired by a professor, he went on to launch his own hand-made incense brand.
Initially, he focused on making traditional incense sticks but the business was lagging. Prompted by his girlfriend, he started to use cookie-cutters to make incense of different shapes such as leaves and flowers. Sales soon picked up. The success encouraged Max to explore new possibilities. He visited different places in search of new ingredients and more sophisticated skills. By adding different scents and spices to hand-made incense sticks, Max created beautiful yet practical items for daily use.
As his career took off, Max wanted to contribute more to society. He partnered with Johnny to set up the social enterprise Lin Heung House. The two founders provide training in incense making and job opportunities of workshop assistants for young and adult women from ethnic minorities. While earning an additional income, the women can also showcase their talent and boost their self-confidence. Yet there are obstacles in recruitment. Some are reluctant to show their faces in public due to religious or family reasons. So Max assigns them to work in different supporting roles.
Max believes many ethnic minority women in Hong Kong are talented and capable. Some are good at henna painting, others making spiced tea and weaving. Yet, they lack opportunities to shine. Max says he is not offering assistance but collaborating with ethnic minorities by drawing on their expertise.
Looking ahead, Lin Heung House plans to invite Thai women to their programme as tutors of making Thai herbal compress balls and herbal tea. Max and Johnny are committed to advancing what they do best: connecting lives and communities with scent.

  • The SIE Fund is funding the prototype project of Lin Heung House. More details can be found here.

Profession

social innovation and design

Scope of Services

vocational training
community art

Beneficiaries

ethnic minorities

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

摙香樓

摙香樓
鄭志堅
盧劍雄

鄭志堅(Max)從小就與「香」結下不解緣。他在兒時經常觀察家人燒香拜神,到了中學便開始用家裡的線香製作藝術品;他在大學修讀視覺藝術,以「香」作為畢業作品的媒介,之後更在教授的啟發下開展製香事業,創立了自己的手工香品牌。
Max初期主要製作傳統香枝,但生意一直不見起色,直至他的女朋友提議用曲奇餅模造香,推出葉形、花形等各式創意造型的產品,生意才大有好轉。Max自此不斷發掘更多關於香的可能性,又到不同地方尋找製香原料和「學藝」,將不同的味道和香料加入手工香當中,製成美觀又實用的日常用品。
事業上軌道之後,Max希望能夠以自己的專長貢獻社會,於是與盧劍雄(Johnny)成立社企「摙香樓」,培訓少數族裔少女和婦女學習製香,並邀請她們成為工作坊助理,讓她們賺取額外收入之餘,亦有機會展現才華,增強自信。雖然現時在招募少數族裔婦女方面仍有難度,譬如她們可能會因宗教或家庭因素而不願意拋頭露面,但Max會安排她們負責後勤協助等不同崗位的工作。
Max認為許多居港少數族裔婦女都有十八般武藝,例如Henna 印度彩繪、沖泡香料茶、編織等,只因缺乏機會所以較少人賞識, 所以摙香樓所做的不過是吸納人才,與他們合作,各展所長,而不是提供援助。
摙香樓下一步計劃邀請泰裔婦女加入,向他們「取經」學習製作按摩草球以及泰國涼茶,繼續發揮二人所長:以香味聯繫生活、以香味聯繫社區。

  • 瀏覽社創基金資助的「摙香樓」原型項目簡介。

專業背景

社創設計

服務範疇

職業培訓
基層藝術

受惠組群

少數族裔

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人