PuYU

PuYU
Chung Woo
Zoe Chan
Mike Tsang

Age creeps up on all of us. Yet, we can face this fact of life with a positive attitude. Inspired by the healing power of plants, Zoe Chan, Chung Woo and Mike Tsang set up the social enterprise “PuYU” to provide the elderly with horticultural therapy that helps them build confidence and enjoy their silver-haired years fully.
The three founders of PuYU are registered horticultural therapists.  Woo and Tsang are retired “young old” (aged between 50 and 65) who have been well versed in floral art and arboriculture before they knew anything about horticultural therapy.  Zoe worked in the finance industry and had little contact with plants. She once signed up to a horticultural therapy workshop and took home an arrowhead vine. The plant managed to stand tall and proud despite a long period of insufficient watering and tough weather. Impressed by the vitality of her plant, Zoe aspired to help others enjoy the same vigour.  She quitted her job to join a training programme in horticultural therapy where she met the other two partners.
PuYU provides tailor-made horticultural classes and gardening tools for the elderly, which help train up their muscles and eye-hand coordination, and delay the cognitive decline that comes with ageing. PuYU has also launched the “PuYU Mindful Green Ambassador programme” to train silver-haired volunteers in realisation of “young-old serves old-old”. Through this programme, the “young old” learn not only knowledge in horticultural therapy but also new skills in interacting and serving the elderly.
External support is indispensable to a social venture. Zoe reckons that their business cannot sustain by running community-based programmes only. Therefore, she has started to explore new opportunities, such as collaborating with big corporations to organise horticulture workshops and volunteer training for staff as corporate social responsibility programmes. Zoe hopes that this new revenue stream would secure a sustainable business development while enabling more people to benefit from the positive energy of plants.

  • The SIE Fund had provided funding support to the prototype project of Mindful Green - Horticultural Therapy Services. More details can be found here.

Profession

horticultural therapy

Scope of Services

elderly service

Beneficiaries

elderly

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

蒲寓

蒲寓
胡雪聰
陳詠欣
曾志豪

年華老去,雖不可逆轉,但可以用正面態度面對。陳詠欣(Zoe)、胡雪聰及曾志豪深明植物具有治癒的力量,創辦社企「蒲寓」,舉辦園藝治療活動,幫助長者建立自信和令銀髮歲月變得充實多姿。
蒲寓三位創辦人都是註冊園藝治療師,當中胡雪聰及曾志豪是已退休的金齡人士(50至65歲),接觸園藝治療前已精通花藝和樹藝; Zoe原本從事金融業,坦言「很少接觸植物」,某次參加園藝治療體驗活動,帶回家種植的合果芋在經歷缺水、風吹雨打後依然屹立不倒。深受這股頑強的生命力感動,Zoe希望幫助令其他人同樣擁有正能量,於是拋低工作,修讀園藝治療課程,並因此結識到志同道合的兩位夥伴。
蒲寓為長者度身訂造課堂內容,並精心設計改良式園藝工具,幫助長者鍛煉肌肉和手眼協調,延緩認知功能衰退。蒲寓亦推出「蒲寓綠耆緣大使」計劃,培訓金齡人士成為義工,實踐「金齡族服務銀齡族(young-old serves old-old)」,讓他們在學習園藝知識之餘,亦可透過服務長者促進社交,助人自助。
經營社企不能缺少外界支持。Zoe直言,單靠在社區中心舉辦活動的收入難以維持企業的日常營運,因此她開始四出發掘新機遇,例如與大企業合作,舉辦園藝工作坊及義工培訓課程,協助企業履行企業社會責任,期望藉此開闢一條穩固的發展路向,亦讓更多人感受到植物的正能量。

  • 按此瀏覽社創基金資助的「蒲寓綠耆緣大使計劃」原型項目簡介。

專業背景

園藝治療

服務範疇

長者服務

受惠組群

長者

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人