Anthea Lee

Anthea Lee

Anthea Lee, Chief Executive of The Society of Rehabilitation and Crime Prevention, Hong Kong (SRACP), used to serve in the field of family service. Having noticed that rehabilitated people, persons in mental recovery and ethnic minorities are the most vulnerable, stigmatized and hidden ones in the society and that SRACP plays a key role in helping them, she determined to switch to rehabilitation service, a “unique” and “challenging” service as she describes, and joined SRACP around 10 years ago.
Anthea sees social service as a process from "uncovering the social problems" to "solving the social issues”. As society is changing fast, one needs to adopt “innovative thinking” to break the conventional service model so that services can be provided to people-in-need more effectively. This is Anthea’s aspiration as well as the goal that SRACP works toward. “The work of SRACP, either through social service or social innovation, is committed to changing people’s lives for the betterment of individuals as well as society. Yet there is a difference between the two in terms of identity and role. From the perspective of social service, service users are relatively passive ‘receivers’; in social innovation, they are ‘co-creators’ taking part in building an inclusive and safe society.”
Anthea pointed out that different marginalised communities have their specific needs. Some lack resources and opportunities whereas others with capabilities and goals need a proper platform to sprout and grow. They are unpolished gemstones which can glow and shine with a little assistance. By providing training, mentorship and a resourceful network, SRACP assists the marginalised groups to develop creative thinking and to design and deploy innovative solutions to tackle social problems. “The satisfaction generated by ‘co-creation’ would intensify the effect of ‘empowerment’. The internalisation process can effectively strengthen their internal ‘locus of control’ - believing that events and their consequences are driven by their self-abilities instead of by external factors. This will benefit their personality growth.” she added. 
Anthea agrees that the journey of social innovation is full of unknowns. SRACP faces internal and external challenges, such as getting connected to various resources and enhancing the creativity of the team. Yet she is confident that success is just around the corner if they can hold to their belief and make good use of their resources. Likewise, she advises young social entrepreneurs to stay proactive and strive for more resources and opportunities. “The path of social innovation may not be smooth. You may encounter hiccups but the precious learning process makes you grow.”

  • SRACP is an intermediary of the SIE Fund responsible for designing and administering the innovative programme "BEHub". More details about the programme can be found here.

Profession

social entrepreneur
social service

Scope of Services

life coaching
SI support

Beneficiaries

general

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

李淑慧

李淑慧

香港善導會(善導會)總幹事李淑慧最初從事家庭服務,之後有感更生人士、精神復元人士、少數族裔等弱勢社群常被標籤和邊緣化,是社會上「隱形」的一群,而善導會為他們提供的幫助舉足輕重,於是在十多年前加入善導會,轉投她眼中充滿「獨特性」和「挑戰性」的復康服務。
李淑慧認為社會服務是一個由「發現社會問題」到「解決社會需要」的過程。然而社會發展瞬息萬變,必須應用「創新思維」打破既有模式,使服務更有效傳遞至使用者手中。這亦是她的工作信念,以及善導會的發展目標。「善導會的社會服務和社創工作均是致力改變生命,讓個人以至社會都變得更好。不一樣的地方在於身份和角色上的不同。在社會服務角度,服務使用者是相對被動的『接受者』;在社會創新工作中,他們為一起締造包容而安全的社會的『共同創造者』。」
她指出不同的邊緣社群各有需要,有的缺乏資源和機會;有的能力和目標俱備,卻欠發展平台。他們都是未經打磨的寶石,給予一點助力便可以發熱發亮。善導會為邊緣社群提供培訓、指導以及資源網絡,協助他們發展創意思維,構思並實踐社會創新方案去解決社會問題。她補充說:「這種『共同創造』的滿足感會強化『充權』效果,內化的過程能有效加強其內在『控制點』(Locus of control),即相信事情和結果由自己的能力控制而非外在因素影響,有助他們的人格正面發展。」
李淑慧認為社創路上充滿未知數,善導會面對不同的內外考驗,如聯繫各種資源及提高團隊創意等。但她深信,只要抱持信念,善用資源,定能邁向成功。她又寄語年青社創家積極主動爭取更多資源及機會:「社創之路不一定是坦途,當中就算經歷風浪,也是難得的學習過程,讓人成長。」

  • 社創基金委聘香港善導會為協創機構,負責設計及執行創新計劃「社創社」。按此查看計劃的簡介。

專業背景

社會創業
社福

服務範疇

人生指導
社創支援培育

受惠組群

各類有需要人士

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人