Teach For Hong Kong Global Vision Fellowship Program

start-up, education and learning, children and youth, Impact Incubator

Helping underprivileged students enhance English proficiency and develop a global vision through the guidance of the programme’s fellows

  

Teach for Hong Kong Foundation Limited has run the Teach for Hong Kong (TFHK) Fellowship Programme since 2015. TFHK recruits outstanding university graduates as fellows to serve as full-time teachers in schools with underprivileged students. It also nurtures fellows to be future leaders who will be inspired to bring systemic changes to Hong Kong’s education system through their different careers in future. SIE Fund provided a grant to support the start-up project in 2016.

The project team noticed that the English foundation of underprivileged students was relatively weak due to low learning motivation and inadequate academic support. Besides, grassroots families may not be able to provide opportunities for global exposure to their children. Leveraging the success of the above-mentioned start-up project, the team proposes, to carve from TFHK Fellowship Programme, a specialised and focused programme to address the issue of lower English proficiency and lack of global exposure of underprivileged students. Trained fellows who are promising graduates with an overseas/multicultural background will be placed as full-time teachers at primary/secondary schools serving underprivileged students.

The programme will provide pre-placement training and regular professional development training on teaching skills to fellows throughout the one-year fellowship. Trained fellows will deliver in-class subject lessons, predominantly in English, and lead English-focused extracurricular activities to stimulate students’ motivation in learning English.

Name of Organisation

Teach For Hong Kong Foundation Limited

Approved Funding Amount

HK$3,291,343

Funding Period (Status)

4 years (Active)

Expected Impact

To serve 7 200 underprivileged students in 10 primary/secondary schools by training 60 fellows

Milestones/Progress

As at October 2021:

A.    Fellowship recruitment and development

  • Recruited 15 Fellows for the programme
  • Delivered 254 training hours and 75 coaching hours to the recruited Fellows

B.    Full‐time stationing at underserved school

  • Served 1 845 underprivileged students
  • Delivered 1 050 subject class hours
  • Delivered 116 extracurricular activities hours
  • Conducted 12 English enhancement and learning activities

Website

www.tfhk.org

良師香港放眼世界項目老師計劃

初創, 教育與學習, 兒童及青少年, Impact Incubator

透過項目老師的指導協助基層學童提高英文水平及發展國際視野

 

「良師香港」自2015年起展開計劃,招募高等院校的傑出畢業生加入成為項目老師,到基層學校擔任全職教師,教導基層學童,並培育項目老師成為明日領袖,啟發他們將來在社會不同的崗位上為香港的教育帶來改變。社創基金於2016年提供資助支持該初創項目

項目團隊觀察到基層學童學習英文的動力較低,加上沒有足夠的教學支援,令他們的英文基礎相對薄弱;此外,基層家庭未必有能力為孩子提供放眼世界的機會。有見及此,憑藉上述初創項目的成功,團隊將從中發展出一個專門項目,以應對基層學童學習英文和發展國際視野的需要。項目會招募擁有海外/多元文化背景並具潛質的畢業生成為項目老師,他們經培訓後會被分派到基層中/小學擔任全職教師。

項目老師會先接受訓練,並在參與計劃的一年間定期接受有關教學技巧的專業培訓。他們會以英文為主要授課語言教授不同科目,並領導以英語為重點的課外活動,以激發學生學習英文的興趣。

機構名稱

良師香港

獲批資助額

港幣3,291,343元

資助期 (狀況)

3年 (正接受資助)

預期效益

培訓60位項目老師,指導來自10間小/中學共 7 200 名基層學童

發展歷程

(適時更新)

網頁 

www.tfhk.org

 
返回: 創新計劃