Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang

Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang

Personal Profile

Dr Kevin Lau was born in Hong Kong and received his early education locally and in Canada. He read medicine and completed his radiology residency training at the University of Hong Kong. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Radiologists UK, Hong Kong College of Radiologists and Hong Kong Academy of Medicine. More recently, he earned his Master's in Public Health and Master's in Public Administration, both from The University of Hong Kong.
Dr Lau is an active member of several governmental bodies. Besides serving the Commission of Poverty and the SIE Fund Task Force, he is a Non-Official Member of the Women's Commission, a Steering Committee Member of the Child Development Fund, a Member of the Criminal And Law Enforcement Injuries Compensation Board, a Member of Committee on Promotion of Breastfeeding, a Member of Board of Governance of HK Adventist Hospital Foundation and a Member of the Industry Training Advisory Committee (Elderly Care Services).
As the Chairman of Make-A-Wish Hong Kong, a foundation established in 1989 for granting wishes to children with critical illness in Hong Kong and Macau, Dr Lau says he has learnt a lot of valuable things like life philosophy from children with illness. On entrepreneurship, his advice to young entrepreneurs is to take bold steps in starting a business amid chances of failures as young people are full of innovative ideas and time is always on their side.

Expectation towards Social Innovation and the SIE Fund

"I find the old Chinese saying about doctors that 'brilliant ones heal nations; mediocre ones heal people; least capable ones heal sickness' very inspiring. As a doctor, I always try to look into social problems from a holistic viewpoint.
While 'social innovation' in Hong Kong is in the development stage, I hope the SIE Fund would continue to serve as a good platform for young people, connecting stakeholders and collaborating with different sectors to implement innovative ideas that address social needs, such as housing and an ageing population."
 
Back to: Task Force Members List

劉仲恒醫生

劉仲恒醫生

簡歷

出生於香港的劉仲恒醫生早年在香港及加拿大接受教育,其後在香港大學醫學院修讀醫科,並修畢了放射科住院醫生培訓。劉醫生除了擁有英國皇家放射科學院院士、香港放射科學院及香港醫學科學院院士外,最近更獲香港大學頒授公共衛生碩士及公共管理碩士學位。
劉醫生亦擔任多項公職。除了是扶貧委員會及社創基金專責小組委員,他目前亦擔任婦女事務委員會非官守成員、兒童發展基金督導委員會成員、暴力及執法傷亡賠償委員會成員、促進母乳餵哺委員會委員和行業培訓諮詢委員會(安老服務業)成員。
劉醫生亦是香港願望成真基金應屆主席,該基金於1989年成立,宗旨是幫助香港及澳門患有重病的兒童實現願望。劉醫生坦言,透過願望成真基金,他從病童身上學到不少人生哲理,獲益良多。他又寄語青年創業家,創業不要怕失敗,年輕人有的是青春、創意、時間,希望在明天。

對社會創新及社創基金的期望

"古語有云:「上醫醫國,中醫醫人,下醫醫病。」我一直奉為座右銘。作為醫生,行醫的同時,也希望從整體角度尋思如何解決社會問題。
「社創」在香港仍在發展及摸索階段。我期望社創基金繼續為年輕人提供良好的平台、加強接觸不同持份者,並聯繫公私營機構,以實踐創新計劃,回應房屋、長者服務等社會需要。"

返回: 專責小組名單