Mosi Mosi

Mosi Mosi
Comma Leung

Being observant and imaginative may be essential for any student studying visual communication, but Comma Leung has more: the enthusiasm to help others. “The other day I saw a guy with visual impairment, a complete stranger, you know. Out of curiosity, I followed him for a while and witnessed the hindrances he met here and there. Then an idea popped up: why wouldn’t I try to design something to help people in need?”
In 2015 Comma founded Mosi Mosi Design Lab. After spending quite an effort in research, she came up with her graduation project the “In:visible Wallet”.  It is a wallet with embossed gauge marks specifically lined up that match the height of different banknotes. Users with visual barriers can check the height of banknotes against those marks to identify their values, saving the need to carry an extra measuring tool. Comma went for crowdfunding to finance the project. However, only half of the target amount was reached when the fundraising period was to end in three days. Luckily, the project caught the media’s attention and the target amount of HK$300,000 was finally reached on time, with extensive publicity as the bonus. Its financial pressure was further relieved by additional funding coming from the SIE Fund through the Good Seed programme of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University as well as a prize from the Hong Kong Social Enterprise Challenge.
Having funding support does not necessarily mean all is well. Because of a quality problem in production, the embossed marks inside the wallets were not placed as precisely as expected. It took Comma a month to check all 1500 wallets produced to rectify the flaw. Despite all the hiccups, Comma remains cheerful. As she says, being able to use design to help people makes her feel fulfilled. While she sees holding on to one’s faith as the key to success, she adds, “I wish to fight for others’ rights, inspire others to change, and work with others to build an inclusive society together.”

  • The SIE Fund has provided funding for the "Mosi Mosi - In:visible Wallet" project. More details can be found here.
 

Profession

social innovation and design

Scope of Services

social and design research

Beneficiaries

persons with disabilities
general

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

無事無事研究所

無事無事研究所
梁雯蕙

修讀視覺傳意設計大概需要敏銳觀察力和無限想像力,梁雯蕙更具備另一項特質:助人的熱忱。「有天在街上遇到一位視障人士,係呀,三唔識七架哈哈,但在好奇心驅使下我跟蹤了他一段路,發覺他在很多地方遇上不便。於是我想:不如嘗試設計一些東西去幫助有需要人士?」
梁雯蕙於2015年成立「無事無事研究所」,經過一番研究,設計了畢業作品「In:visible Wallet」(「看得見的銀包」),在銀包內加入適當排列的刻度,對應不同面額紙幣的高度,讓視障人士能憑紙幣高度辨別幣值,不用額外攜帶量鈔器。項目透過眾籌平台集資,但在眾籌完結三日前,仍只籌得目標金額的一半。幸而經傳媒報道,最終三日內達到港幣30萬的眾籌目標,還收得宣傳之效。其後「In:visible Wallet」項目透過香港理工大學好薈社計劃獲得社創基金撥款資助,又透過社會企業挑戰賽獲得獎金,舒緩資金困難。
縱有資金,也未必等於「無事無事」。因廠商生產品質問題,銀包內的刻度排列不夠準確,她花了一個月時間獨力將1500個銀包逐個檢查修正。面對重重難關,她仍然笑得燦爛,自言能夠利用設計幫助別人讓她很滿足,又謂最重要是堅持信念:「我希望能夠為別人爭取權利,啟發別人去改變,一起建立共融的社會。」

  • 按此瀏覽社創基金資助的「無事無事研究所 - 看得見的銀包」項目簡介。
 

專業背景

社創設計

服務範疇

社會及設計研究

受惠組群

殘疾人士
各類有需要人士

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人