STICKu

STICKu
Richard Leung
Brian Lam

STICKu the smart cane is equipped with a wide range of functions. For example, when it falls on the ground without being picked up, an alarm will ring to call for assistance to avoid delay in resuscitation in case of a fall accident. It can also connect to a mobile phone via Bluetooth.  The mobile application will send out an alert message to the user when the cane is left unattended at a distance. “My sister had been seriously ill and needed to use a cane. However, she was very reluctant since she regarded it as a sign of weakness and disgrace,” Richard Leung, co-founder of STICKu, recalled how he was motivated to redesign the canes to take them to a new level.
Leung used to work in the toy industry. In 2015 he teamed up with designer Brian Lam when both quitted their jobs to set up BNET-Tech Company to develop a smart cane. The path for a start-up is anything but straight. In the case of STICKu, it takes enormous knowledge which is outside of their professions. For instance, physical tests and durability tests relating to meeting safety standards were conducted by professional engineers with whom they worked together to modify the design. The two collected views from the community by visiting day care centres and meeting the elderly. They put themselves in the users’ and careers’ shoes to understand their needs when designing the cane. “The focus of STICKu is not just applying technologies but being convenient and easy to use. The whole thing is about a reliable tool the elderly can count on.”
Their excellent work was recognised when the smart cane won the champion of an entrepreneurship competition earlier. Nevertheless, there were financial challenges so severe that the two founders received no income for a while, not to mention a two-month delay in the work schedule. They were very desperate and almost gave up. Looking back at the three-year experience, with obstacles overcome, Leung arrived at three essentials of entrepreneurship, “Firstly, a clear goal. Secondly, commitment and resilience. Thirdly, being flexible and willing to look for alternatives when facing problems. As a social enterprise, we put giving back and serving before profit-making.”

  • The SIE Fund is funding the start-up project of STICKu. More details can be found here

Profession

innovative invention

Scope of Services

health care
elderly service

Beneficiaries

elderly

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

STICKu 智能柺杖

STICKu 智能柺杖
梁渭聲
林鴻傑

智能柺杖STICKu 功能多多,例如感測到柺杖跌落地面未被拾起,會發出警報,防止用家因跌倒失救;柺杖亦能透過藍牙連接手機,如超出預定範圍即會提醒物主柺杖被遺留。「我姐姐曾患重病,需使用柺杖,但卻因自尊心問題而非常抗拒,認為是弱者的象徵。」親人的經歷引發STICKu開發者之一梁渭聲決心改善柺杖設計,將柺杖重新定義。
梁渭聲原本從事玩具業,2015年與設計師拍檔林鴻傑毅然放棄原有工作,創立BNET-Tech Company設計智能柺杖。創業之路絕非坦途,更牽涉大量他們老本行以外的知識,例如涉及安全標準的物理測試、耐力測試等,均需交由專業工程師負責,再合力調整設計細節。他們亦曾親自「落區」,向長者和日間護理院舍收集意見,在設計時以第一身視角,考慮用家和照顧者的需要。「智能柺杖的重點不單單是加入各種高科技,而是方便易用,令人真正有安全感,能倚靠來應付日常生活的工具。」
BNET早前憑智能柺杖奪得創業比賽冠軍,成績彪炳;然而二人也曾遇財政困難,「冇糧出」,進度又比預期落後近兩個月,彷徨得幾近放棄。回望過去三年,梁渭聲總結出三個創業的要點:「一,目標清晰;二,堅持不懈;三,遇到困難時要勇於嘗試找方法解決,靈活變通。作為社企,我們更希望取諸社會,用諸社會,惠及更多人,這比利潤更為重要。」

  • 按此瀏覽社創基金資助的STICKu「智能柺杖」項目簡介。

專業背景

創意發明

服務範疇

醫療
長者服務

受惠組群

長者

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人