Wilson Fung

Wilson Fung

The seven-year service at a government hospital has given physician Dr Wilson Fung first-hand understanding of the severe challenges facing elderly medical services. Dr Fung has been interested in technology on remote medical consultation which he considers as having a great potential for improving elderly medical services. In 2016 he set up DoctorNowNEEDS with his partner. Through this social venture, they recruit private practice physicians to make use of their spare time to provide medical consultation on-site or remotely through a mobile app to elderly living in hostels and engage courier firms for medicine delivery service. It saves the elderly from travelling to and from clinics and helps relieve the pressure on public service and hostels.
DoctorNowNEEDS has so far been supported by more than 30 physicians, cooperated with 70 hostels and provided 6000 times of service. While feeling satisfied with the results, Dr Fung stresses that it is not the number that counts but the proof of concept. He is now exploring to work with welfare agencies to extend the service to elderly at home, as "age at home" is what Dr Fung envisions as an option for elderly.
Dr Fund had put enormous efforts to the planning stage, the work of which included understanding the needs of the target service recipients, identifying the suitable technology and payment methods, as well as lining up service partners. His experience in running a clinic paid off as it took less than a year for DoctorNowNEEDS to overcome teething problems. His advice for the coming social entrepreneurs is that the thoughtful deliberation on preparation work and operation chores is just as important as the passion for doing social good.

Profession

medical

Scope of Services

health care

Beneficiaries

elderly
patients

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

馮治本

馮治本

在公營醫療機構的7年服務,令馮治本醫生(Dr Wilson Fung)親身體驗長者醫療服務正面對嚴峻挑戰。對遙距診症科技一直有留意的馮醫生,有感相關技術可加強長者醫療服務,毅然在2016年與拍檔成立「老友所醫」,招募私人執業醫生,鼓勵他們利用空檔到院舍為長者應診,或透過流動應用程式進行視象診症,並利用速遞服務送藥到戶,免卻長者舟車勞頓之餘,亦有助紓緩公營醫療系統以至院舍的壓力。
成立至今,「老友所醫」已招募了逾30位醫生,與70所院舍合作,提供了近6000次服務。對於這樣亮麗的成績表,馮醫生強調數字並不重要,最大的價值在於為改善長者醫療服務試驗出可行的方案。馮醫生正計劃進一步推廣「在宅醫療」,希望透過與社福機構合作,將服務擴展至院舍以外長者,長遠而言,讓「在家終老」成為長者晚年生活的一項選擇。
馮醫生在籌備「老友所醫」方面花了不少功夫,包括深入了解服務對象的需要、探索合適技術和付費模式、連繫合作夥伴等,加上之前開設醫務所累積了經營業務的經驗,「老友所醫」只花了大半年時間便漸上軌道。馮醫生以個人經驗寄語年輕社會創業家,解決社會問題的熱誠固然重要,但事前規劃和各項營運細節的安排更不容忽視。

專業背景

醫護

服務範疇

醫療

受惠組群

長者
病人/復康人士

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人