Dennis  Au

Dennis Au

As a Chinese medicine practitioner and co-founder of Conduct Chinese Medicine Clinic, Dennis Au has been striving to enhance public understanding of Chinese medicine, which is perceived as old-fashioned by some, so that more people can benefit.
In 2008, Dennis partnered with a classmate of the School of Chinese Medicine of Baptist University and participated in the Youth Business Hong Kong scheme of the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups. With funding support and coaching by professionals (including lawyers and accountants) from the scheme, the two set up Conduct Chinese Medicine Clinic. Novel elements such as separate consultation rooms, digital prescriptions records, centralised pharmacy and door-to-door medicine delivery service were introduced with a view to promoting modern Chinese medical service. After about 10 years of operation, they now provide a full range of service through clinics in different districts.
Dennis had taken part in voluntary service since he was a student. He joined social workers to serve youth at risk including drug addicts. His care for the young drug addicts brings big impact through Conduct. In cooperation with NGOs, Chinese medicine treatment is given to young drug addicts with counselling service to their families. According to Dennis, the holistic approach of Chinese medicine makes it more persuasive and acceptable to the patients. It is also a good approach to identifying and addressing social problems. Besides serving local youth, Dennis also set up Chinese Medicine for All, a non-profit organisation that provides free medical service to people living in remote villages in underdeveloped countries.
Dennis is an active player in the Chinese medicine circle, seeking to enhance the image of Chinese medicine as well as to strengthen the cooperation between Chinese and western medicine.

Profession

medical

Scope of Services

health care

Beneficiaries

patients
youth and children

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

歐卓榮

歐卓榮

康德堂中醫診所聯合創辦人中醫師歐卓榮(Dennis Au)一直希望加強公眾對中醫的認識,改變中醫予人「老餅」的印象,從而讓更多人接受並能受惠於現代中醫學。
畢業於浸會大學中醫藥學院的Dennis於2008年夥拍大學同學參加了香港青年協會的青年創業計劃,從中獲得資金以及專業人士(包括律師、會計師)的指導,成立康德堂,實踐推展現代化中醫服務的理想。康德堂引入了多項創新元素,例如保障病人私隱的獨立診症室、電腦病歷記錄、中央藥房、送藥到戶等。經過近十年營運,現時康德堂已在全港設有多間診所,提供全面的中醫診治服務。
Dennis在求學時期已參加義務工作,跟隨社工服務「邊青」,接觸不少濫藥青少年。這份對濫藥青少年的關注得以透過康德堂發揮更大效益。康德堂與志願機構合作,為濫藥青少年提供中醫戒毒服務,並聯同社工為這些青少年的家庭提供支援和輔導。Dennis認為,中醫較著重病人身體的整體狀況,在診症過程中較易令病人關注自身健康並產生接受治療的動機。而這種整體觀,亦有助了解和回應社會問題。除了服務本地青少年,Dennis亦成立非牟利組織「全仁中醫」,組成中醫團隊到第三世界偏遠地區義診及教授醫療技術。
Dennis現時積極參與業內活動,繼續著力提升中醫形象,期望加強中西醫合作。

專業背景

醫護

服務範疇

醫療

受惠組群

病人/復康人士
青少年及兒童

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人