Goods Co-Share

Goods Co-Share
Matthew Lee

"Chai, mi, you, yan, jiang, cu, cha" (firewood, rice, oil, salt, sauce, vinegar, tea in Mandarin) is a Chinese saying usually cited by old Chinese folks to stress the importance of these household necessities to people’s daily living. Born in a grassroots family and with more than 15 years of experience in community building, social worker Matthew Lee understands poverty problem well and has a special concern about the rising price of commodities.
Matthew notices life becomes harder for grassroots in recent years. "When stalls and grocery shops are being replaced by chain stores and supermarkets, kaifong are left with few shopping choices, let alone affordable ones." While the government and other organisations provide financial assistance for the needy, Matthew helps them save their costs of living. Joined by a partner with a similar grassroots background, he set up the social venture Goods Co-Share. Pop-up stalls are set up periodically in districts with a high poverty rate and underdeveloped social networks, providing grassroots households with another shopping option that sells daily necessities and groceries at a lower-than-market price.
The logo of Goods Co-Share bears an annotation that reads "less price, MORE VALUE". "Besides providing low-priced products, we hope to generate value for kaifong and the community." The venture employs grassroots women to manage the stalls. In partnership with NGOs, it shares with customers knowledge about finance and health. More than just doing transactions, the venture also plays a part in enhancing neighbourhood relationship and fostering community development.

  • The SIE Fund is funding the startup project of Goods Co-Share. More details can be found here.

Profession

social service

Scope of Services

retail

Beneficiaries

low-income families

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

良由集貨

良由集貨
李炳輝

民間俗語有曰「開門七件事 —— 柴、米、油、鹽、醬、醋、茶」,可見這些生活必需品與市民息息相關。出身基層、有超過十五年社區發展服務經驗的社工李炳輝(Matthew),對貧窮問題有深刻體會,一直關注物價上升對基層市民的影響。
近年Matthew發現基層生活變得更困難:「大型連鎖店及超市進駐各區,士多、雜貨舖等相繼結業,街坊缺乏購物選擇,更難以低廉價格買到生活必需品。」有見政府及其他機構提供資助協助有需要人士(「開源」),Matthew想到為他們「節流」—— 與同為基層出身的合作夥伴成立社創項目良由集貨,在基層家庭較多的地區定期開設直銷攤位,以低於市價售賣生活必需品,為基層市民提供多一項購物選擇。
良由集貨的標誌附有註解 less price,MORE VALUE。「我們期望項目除提供低價貨品(less price)外,亦可以為街坊、為社區建立更多價值(more value)。」項目聘請基層婦女協助營運攤位,並與非政府組織合作,為街坊提供理財、健康等生活資訊,在買賣之餘,增進鄰里關係,凝聚街坊一同建設社區。

  • 社創基金資助的「良由集貨」初創項目的簡介在

專業背景

社福

服務範疇

零售

受惠組群

低收入家庭

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人