Rubber Boy Academy

Rubber Boy Academy
Alan Lee

Sign language is the basic form of communication used by the hearing impaired (HI). Most people cannot read sign language, making it difficult for HI to communicate with the general public. Alan Lee, whose deceased mother was HI, understands the difficulties faced by HI well.
Serious illness induced by cancer prohibited his mother from wearing any hearing aids, causing difficulties in her communication with medical personnel. "If the public know a little simple sign language, they can have better communication with HI and help reduce their anxieties and helplessness." In reminiscence of his mother and being inspired by her experience in hospital, Alan would like to set up a platform for teaching the public simple sign language through the application of innovative technology. Using his profession in animation, he established Rubber Boy Academy to produce a series of 3D "edutainment" (blending educational and entertainment elements) animation featuring the cartoon character "Rubber Boy" with the aim to enhance mutual communication between the public and HI. Training courses on 3D animation design and production will be provided to assist HI to enjoy a better career development and remuneration.
"Even for us hearing guys, there are times when gestures speak better than speech." Alan grinned and emphasised "learning sign language does not have age restriction." He hopes "Rubber Boy" can change public's perception of sign language, thus encouraging the public to learn while promoting social inclusion. The Academy will have a variety of plans to raise public awareness of sign language including producing micro-films, publication of picture books by using augmented reality (AR) technology, and collaboration projects with schools and other organisations.

The SIE Fund is funding the startup project of Rubber Boy Academy with details here.

Profession

information technology

Scope of Services

education and training

Beneficiaries

persons with disabilities

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

擦膠哥學院

擦膠哥學院
李政麟

手語是聽障人士的主要溝通語言,一般健聽人士較少接觸,「語言不通」令聽障人士在日常生活中遇到不少困難,母親是弱聽人士的李政麟(Alan)對此感受至深。
Alan的母親身患癌症住院時,因病情嚴重無法配戴助聽器,與醫護人員難以溝通。「其實公眾只需懂得一點簡單手語,便能消除聽障人士的焦慮和無助。」母親離世後,出於對母親的思念,以及受母親在醫院的經歷啟發,令Alan期望能有一個平台,能夠以創新科技教授公眾簡單手語,促進與聽障人士溝通,藉此提升公眾對手語的關注。本身專業為動畫製作的Alan遂成立擦膠哥學院,與團隊於網上發布一系列以擦膠哥為主角、寓教育於娛樂的3D動畫影片,讓公眾輕鬆學習手語。項目又為聽障人士提供3D動畫設計培訓課程,以助聽障人士找到更理想的職業,改善薪酬待遇。
「健聽人士在不方便說話的場合,有時也會以手勢表達感受或意見。」Alan笑言「學手語不分年齡」,期望透過「擦膠哥」改變手語在公眾心目中的印象,鼓勵公眾學習,令手語成為一種普及的溝通語言,促進社會共融。項目將會籌拍微電影,出版利用虛擬實景技術教授手語的圖畫書,並與學校及不同機構合作,積極提升公眾對手語的認知。

社創基金資助的「擦膠哥學院」初創項目的簡介在

專業背景

資訊科技

服務範疇

教育及培訓

受惠組群

殘疾人士

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人