Idea Maker Project

Idea Maker Project
Henry Lee

Having worked in the high-end technology industry for over 10 years, Henry Lee believes that "innovation technology" and "creative problem solving" skills are not exclusive to adults. Children can also be nurtured to become "makers" who offers innovative solutions for social problems.
While studying design thinking in Chicago, Henry was impressed by the creativity of the children there and the way they were groomed. "3D printing is an innovative technology but is not widely used in Hong Kong. The general public can hardly have the access to learn related technology. But in libraries in Chicago, training is provided and children are free to use 3D printers." Fed up with the situation in Hong Kong where children get addicted to smartphones, Henry decided to set up Idea Maker Project. 3D printing technology is introduced as the key component in its training programme combining "innovation technology" and "design thinking". Children are encouraged to solve problems by "self-invention". Courses in innovative technology are also offered to children of low-income group, enabling them to enjoy the merits of technology and have their horizons broadened.
The project has collaborated with 12 schools in the past 2 years, benefitting about 400 students. Henry hopes that Idea Maker HK will become the starting point for children to develop into active learners who are not afraid of making mistakes, show interest to innovation, and eventually contribute to building a better society.

The SIE Fund is funding the startup project of Idea Maker Project with details here.

Profession

innovative invention

Scope of Services

education and training

Beneficiaries

youth and children

Read more

(To be updated when available)

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

小小發明家

小小發明家
李勇堅

「創新科技」、「創意解難」並不是成年人的專利,有十多年從事高端科技產業經驗的李勇堅(Henry)相信小朋友亦可以透過學習成為「創客」,想出創新方法協助解決社會問題。
在美國芝加哥修讀設計思維課程時,Henry發現外國小朋友充滿創意,當地有關機構亦很著意培養小朋友的創意。「3D打印屬創新科技,在香港並未普及,公眾難有機會接觸相關技術。但在芝加哥,圖書館內設有3D打印機,小朋友可以隨意使用,並有導師教授相關知識。」Henry對香港的小朋友沉迷智能電話很不以為然,遂創立小小發明家,以3D打印技術為本,為小朋友提供結合「創新科技」及「設計思維」的培訓課程,助小朋友培養創意,鼓勵他們以「自家發明」解決問題。項目另為低收入家庭小朋友提供創意科技課程,讓他們享有與其他小朋友相同的學習科技機會,擴闊視野。
項目成立接近兩年,已與12間學校合作,提供課程予約400名學生。Henry認為小小發明家是一個「開始」,期望最終能培養小朋友主動學習,勇於嘗試及創作,令社會變得更美好。

社創基金資助的「小小發明家」初創項目的簡介在

專業背景

創意發明

服務範疇

教育及培訓

受惠組群

青少年及兒童

延伸閱讀

(適時更新)

返回: 創新香港人