Comfort Me

Comfort Me
Lonna Kwan
Angie Lin

Regarding cancer treatment, many people focus only on medication and miss patients' needs during and after treatment. Lonna, co-founder of Comfort Me, understands patients' needs well as one of her family members has suffered from breast cancer. "A bra that fits is more than a piece of clothing. It also serves to comfort patients from physical and mental pain."
But it's a challenge finding well-fitted bras. Imported mastectomy bras are expensive and don't fit Asian women. Lonna and her friend Angie who had been in the garment business for two decades thus decided to set up Comfort Me. They do research, design and produce mastectomy bras and underclothing which are sold at reasonable prices or offered for free to the underprivileged. Thanks to the feminine design of the underclothing, breast cancer patients will look as beautiful and girlie as they used to before the surgery.
Women recovered from breast cancer are hired or work voluntarily as "Comfort Me Ambassadors" to share their rehabilitation stories with customers. "As the first social enterprise of underclothing, Comfort Me is not merely a retail shop. It's a platform offering assistance to needy women," say Lonna and Angie. They hope Comfort Me could play a part in helping every woman rebuild their self-confidence and enjoy a healthy life.

  • The SIE Fund is funding the startup project of Comfort Me. Details

Profession

business

Scope of Services

retail

Beneficiaries

patients
low-income families

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

樂柔美

樂柔美
關蘇肖恩
林黎嘉華

對很多人而言,癌症首重治療,但患者在治療期間及治癒後所需的協助往往被忽略。家人曾患乳癌,令關蘇肖恩(Lonna)對患者的感受有深切體會。「一件合適的內衣,有助撫平患者的傷痛,帶給她們心靈上的安慰。」
但合適的胸罩不容易找到,適合乳房切除術後戴的胸罩多從外國進口,價格較貴,亦未必適合亞洲女士的身型。憑藉好友林黎嘉華(Angie)從事製衣行業超過廿年的經驗,她們決定成立「樂柔美」,自行研發、設計及生產適合乳癌患者以至一般婦女的內衣,以相宜價格發售或贈予有需要婦女,令各階層婦女都能受惠。樂柔美的內衣著重女性化設計,令乳癌患者在手術後仍能繼續享受穿上漂亮內衣的喜悅。
乳癌康復者在店內化身「樂柔美大使」,以過來人身份與顧客分享復康經歷,令患者心靈得到慰藉。Lonna和Angie說道:「作為首間內衣社企,樂柔美不僅是一間內衣專門店,更是一個為有需要婦女提供協助的平台。」兩位創辦人均希望透過樂柔美幫助婦女走出陰霾,重建自信,享受健康生活。

  • 社創基金資助的「樂柔美」初創項目的簡介在

專業背景

商界

服務範疇

零售

受惠組群

病人/復康人士
低收入家庭

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人