Mike Li

Mike Li

Thanks to its low price and lightweight, 3D-printed prosthesis is both a boon to the disabled and a boost to business. Rather than making a profit from it, Mike Li, one of the founders of the social venture 3D Printed Prosthetics, prefers to better perform the roles of a "promoter" and "service provider" to serve the needs of the underprivileged.
Mike began his career in the IT industry. Having been inspired by the concept of social enterprise, he started to think about serving the community with his profession, and eventually set up the social venture to produce 3D-printed prosthesis for children with disabilities. 3D Printed Prosthetics organises workshops for incorporating into the STEM (aka Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) curriculum, teaching students the skills of using relevant software, prosthesis printing and assembling. "On one hand, we could offer prosthesis to the people in need," said Mike, "And on the other hand, students could acquire the skills and have a deeper understanding of the disabled.
The venture is spending 80% of its resources to serve those low-income groups who cannot afford the expensive prosthesis. The beneficiaries consist of a large overseas group including a numerous number of poor people in West Africa who became disabled during political chaos or wars.
On long-term development, Mike said the shortage of manpower poses the biggest challenge. In addition to that from schools, he would like to gain support from corporates or organisations as well so as to serve more children, patients or even stroke survivors. Meanwhile, Mike is also thinking about getting in touch with more NGOs of the poorer regions in Asia to extend the coverage of beneficiaries and the opportunities for them to re-establish dignity and the skills of living.

Profession

information technology

Scope of Services

health care

Beneficiaries

persons with disabilities
youth and children

Read more

Back: Hong Kong Social Innovators

李再敏

李再敏

以3D打印製作的義肢價格較低廉,重量較輕,它的出現是不少殘疾人士的福音,更可能帶來龐大商機。但對社企「3D打印義肢」創辦人之一李再敏(Mike)來說,相較於以產品牟利,他更希望做好「推廣者」、「服務者」的角色,滿足弱勢社群的需要。
Mike是資訊科技業出身,接觸到社企概念後,便萌生以一己之長助人的念頭。後來他發現3D打印義肢的優點,便開始為殘疾兒童製作義肢,更成立社企,結合教育局推行的STEM(即科學、科技、工程及數學)課程,舉辦工作坊,教授學生使用繪圖軟件、打印、組裝等技巧。「一方面可以把義肢供給有需要人士,另一方面也能讓學生習得有關技能和了解殘疾人士的需要。」Mike解釋道。
Mike指出,項目中的八成資源都用以照顧無法承擔有關醫療開支的低收入群組,更惠及海外,當中包括大批因政治動亂及戰爭導致殘障的西非貧民。
談到長遠發展,Mike不諱言,辦社企最大的困難仍是人手不足,除了學校,他希望本地企業、機構也能參與,為兒童、病人甚或中風康復者服務。而在受惠者方面,Mike亦希望可以進一步連繫亞洲更多貧困地區的非政府組織,讓有需要人士重拾生活的基本技能和尊嚴。

專業背景

資訊科技

服務範疇

醫療

受惠組群

殘疾人士
青少年及兒童

延伸閱讀

返回: 創新香港人